Piper Street – A History

Piper Street was one of Kyneton’s first streets when the town was established in 1850. It has a rich history and has housed many different businesses for over a century and a half. Piper Street is renowned in and beyond the Macedon Ranges for its amazing eateries, antique stores, galleries and shops. It is also home to the Kyneton Farmers’ Market on the second Saturday of the month. This is held in the lower section of St Paul’s Park. 

 

It is no wonder that the Kyneton Town Walk includes a stroll down Piper Street as there are many historic buildings that are still standing there. We mentioned St Paul’s Park; the stunning church itself is on one of the highest points of the town and overlooks Piper Street. The Church’s Rectory was built in 1851 and it was the first bluestone building in Kyneton. It is also one of the few buildings in Victoria that predates the gold discoveries. 

 

The Royal George Hotel was built in 1855 and was originally called The Gold Digger’s Arms. It is still a pub to this day. The Bank of New South Wales was built on the corner of Piper and Wedge Streets in1854 and is now the residence of the Kyneton Museum. Here you can discover many local historic artefacts and stories. On the other end of the street is the Old Steam Mill. This was built in 1862 but unlike many other mills, it operated well into the twentieth century. It now has a bed and breakfast, restaurant, speciality shops and a studio. The Old Market building was built in 1878 and originally housed many butchers and a pie and coffee shop. Today it is used as a fruit and vegetable market.

 

Enjoy the new and old of Piper Street when you are next in Kyneton. Peruse the galleries, stop for a bite in one of the acclaimed cafes and do a spot of shopping.

 

References

home.vicnet.au/~kyhist

www.piperstreet.com.au